Baby Booties.. and MORE Baby Booties!

May 14, 2007 texaspch7

My boyfriend has a friend whose wife had a baby about three weeks ago.  So I thought it would be a nice gesture to knit something for the baby… totally taking after my mom!!  lol  So I picked out a nice simple pattern for Baby Booties.  I was so excited to start this new and different project… I started last night around 11pm and finished one bootie around 2:30am this morning.  Well, everything minus sewing the sole of the bootie to the instep.  Unfortunately my blue plastic needle, that my mother lent to me, snapped in half last night — somwhere around 1am’ish.  😦  It was a good yarn needle while it lasted…

So while I was at work today, I thought it’d be an ingenuous idea to text message the friend of my boyfriend and have him measure his daughter’s foot… well the bootie was an inch too small!!  😦  So I put that aside and decided to start a whole other bootie, tweeking the directions, adding rows everywhere…. sigh, we’ll see how long this “nice gesture” goes.  lol  Here’s a picture of it!  Good practice though I must say.

Entry Filed under: Knitting

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacey  |  May 15, 2007 at 2:18 am

    Definitely good practice! :o) I always make them bigger than their age so they can 1/2 way “grow” into them. At this stage they are like weeds!

    Booties are great quick projects and great practice for adult socks too! ;o)

    Are you crocheting those??

    Nice to see you branching out!

  • 2. Stacey  |  May 15, 2007 at 2:19 am

    Wait! I can tell you are knitting those…they almost look like crochet! :op

    Keep at it! Great Job@ :o)

  • 3. Judy  |  May 15, 2007 at 2:58 am

    What a dear itty, bitty bootie! Very cute.

  • 4. Andrea Jones  |  May 15, 2007 at 11:04 am

    Those booties are too cute!

    You have been tagged. Details on my blog 🙂

  • 5. JL  |  May 16, 2007 at 1:06 am

    I love knitting booties 2.

  • 6. Stacey  |  May 22, 2007 at 11:27 am

    You’ve been way too quiet!

    Where have you been? :o)

  • 7. Cheryl  |  July 2, 2007 at 2:54 am

    What a sweet gesture, and definately just like your mom! Your projects all look great! keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
